More news & features

Published: August 11, 2017

Pilgrims guarding officer Neil Corbett has won the National Officer Gold Award at the company’s annual awards ceremony, which rewards excellence among the teams that protect clients’ premises.

Silver and Bronze awards went to guarding officers Clement Aikins and Thaman Gurung, respectively, while Best Team awards went to Sanofi Haverhill (Gold), McBrides Hull, (Silver) and Arcinova Alnwick (Bronze).

A total of thirteen awards were presented at this year’s Pilgrims Manned Guarding Awards, which took place last month. Corbett, who works with Bristol Laboratories, a leading pharmaceutical client, was praised for his leadership skills, hard work and ability to remain calm under pressure. The Pilgrims senior management team described Corbett as a valuable asset to Pilgrims who deserved recognition and exuded the professionalism of a first-class supervisor.

Tony Wisdom, Senior Operations Manager, said: “Neil Corbett has worked continuously and tirelessly under some incredibly challenging conditions and does so without complaint or fuss. This supervisor understands what needs to be done and always delivers, regardless of the many challenges he faces on a week by week basis. A reliable and quietly confident team member, I trust his judgement, common-sense and use of experience without question. He demonstrates a high level of commitment, both to Pilgrims Group and to the client and is, in our opinion, the consummate security professional. I am constantly impressed with his dedicated work ethic and his unassuming air of authority. My role is made considerably easier knowing that this supervisor operates as he does.”

Pilgrims COO, David Freear, said: “These awards give us an opportunity to show our appreciation of the incredibly high standards of service that our teams deliver, recognising those who go the extra mile, day after day, for our clients. The competition was strong and all our winners are extremely well deserved.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

National Officer

Gold – Neil Corbett
Silver – Clement Aikins
Bronze – Thaman Gurung

Regional Officer South

Gold – Clement Aikins
Silver – Thaman Gurung
Bronze – Piya Rafi-Ul-Shan
Highly Commended - Kingsley Okyere

Regional Officer North

Gold – Neil Corbett
Silver – Alan Kalule
Bronze – Jacqueline Shirtcliffe

Best Team

Gold – Sanofi Haverhill
Silver – McBrides Hull
Bronze – Arcinova Alnwick